Let the Countdown Begin

You guys.

It’s happening.

50 days until graduation.

Wat8

Personally, I never wanted to be one of those people who posted every “last” thing about my senior year of college on social media. So far, I’ve been fairly successful. But this past week has been unreal.

With the Scripps Dinner on Tuesday (a formal dinner for Reynolds School of Journalism alumni, faculty, and graduating seniors), the grad fair, an email about an upcoming graduate luncheon, and the shipment of my graduation announcements, I was an emotional wreck. In addition, today marks just 50 DAYS until I graduate, earlier this week Graduation by Vitamin C came on my shuffle (commence tears, commence redoing makeup before class), and this weekend, I will take my senior pictures. WHAT IS LIFE?

giphy-31

So here I am, giving into the unavoidable graduation count down. 50 days. 50 days left of classes and homework and studying and exams and papers and projects and all-nighters and the library and presentations. 50 days left of theme parties and shotgunning beer and tailgates and football and fraternities and formals and party buses and The Wal and Wine Walks and Wine Wednesdays and bringing wine to class and six-day weekends. 50 days left of “What am I doing with my life?!” and confusion and nervous breakdowns and hating life and being too old for this and needing to grow up already and needing a nap and wanting to move on to the next chapter of my life. 50 days left of being right here, right now and seeing familiar faces around me on campus and in the community at all times and being able to call up any of my friends at any time to do anything and having random adventures and not having responsibilities and friendship and laughter and the good, the bad, and the ugly and making memories that will last a lifetime and magic and perfection and collegiate bliss.

50. Days.

I have no regrets that I’ve started the countdown. I don’t know if I could avoid the countdown if I even tried. You kind of have to have a countdown, both for the good and the bad. You have to be aware in one sense that you only have to get through 50 more days of stress and classes (my last days in school ever! …unless I go to grad school one day, but that’s another post). At the same time, you have to be aware that you are only allowed 50 more days of what you will one day look back on as your “college days.” And that’s the reality.

50 days, and there’s nothing you can do about it. So make the very, very most of it.

Are you also winding down to graduation? Do you feel like you had enough time in college? Let’s talk about it on Twitter!

Signature

Leave a Reply

