Every Emotional Stage of an All-Nighter

At some point during everyone’s four or nine years in college, the inevitable happens — you have to pull an all-nighter. They can be more common for some than others, but everyone is bound to have at least one before they cross the stage on their graduation day. Freshman may even look forward to their first college all-nighter, not realizing the psychological, physical, and emotional torment they put you through. Let’s break down each stage:

7 p.m.

Um, excuse me, when did it get dark outside? I still have so much more work to do…

giphy-21

9 p.m.

Complete darkness. This is real. I’m studying at nighttime. I did not plan for this. What is civilization doing outside? Are they having fun without me?

giphy-17

10 p.m.

Still hanging on to that glimmer of hope that maybe I’ll be done soon. Maybe not in time to go out and enjoy the evening, maybe not even in time to enjoy some tv, but maybe I’ll get to bed at a somewhat reasonable hour. Is that too much to ask for?

giphy-14

11:55 p.m.

WHAT? It can’t already be 11. It’s not even 11:30, it’s straight up 11:55. THAT’S ALMOST MIDNIGHT. How is this possible? Wait, how did I study for almost two hours straight without once looking at the clock? Note to self: maybe these all-nighters aren’t such a bad idea…

12:30 a.m.

These are definitely a bad idea. How was I so much less tired just 35 MINUTES AGO?

giphy-45

1:05 a.m.

When did 10 p.m. turn into 1 a.m…This is the absolute WORST time to fall asleep. If I go to bed now, not only will I not have finished all my homework, I will be tired all day tomorrow. But if I press through… Well, we know what happens when I press through. Maybe I’ll just see how I feel in 10 minutes…

2:40 a.m.

Welp. I guess there’s nothing I can do about it now. The all-nighter has taken ahold of me. It’s time to give in.

2:45 a.m.

YOOOOO I’LL TELL YOU WHAT I WANT WHAT I REALLY REALLY WANT SO TELL ME WHAT YOU WANT WHAT YOU REALLY REALLY WANT

giphy-1 copy 3

2:47 a.m.

Maybe I’ll just close my eyes for a few minutes…

giphy-4 copy

2:48 a.m.

Why can’t I close my eyes

3:10 a.m.

Must. Make. Coffee. But. Can’t. Feel. Legs.

giphy-44

3:40 a.m.

I think that coffee actually made me more sleepy…

giphy-1

4:01 a.m.

*~wHaT aRe ThEsE sTrAnGe FeEliNgS i’M hAvInG~*

giphy-16

4:02 a.m.

WHAT WAS THAT I SAW SOMETHING

giphy-51

4:20 a.m.

Rollin’ rollin’ rollin’… keep those fingers rollin’

giphy-7 copy 2

4:21 a.m.

Why am I so weird

giphy-36

4:22 a.m.

What is existence

giphy-38

4:23 a.m.

Have I had any actual thoughts for the last 60 seconds or was I just staring at the wall?

giphy-44

4:24 a.m.

Wait am I hungry?

rev up those fryers

4:25 a.m.

Maybe this all-nighter has gotten the best of me. Maybe I really should give in and power nap for just, like, two hours.

giphy-1 copy

4:26 a.m.

Still contemplating sleep…

giphy-9 copy

4:27 a.m.

Not sure if still contemplating sleep or actually sleeping…

giphy-46

4:28 a.m.

OKAY MAKE UP YOUR MIND

giphy-11

4:29 a.m.

Alright, alright. I’ll set my alarm for 30 minutes. No, 40 minutes. Okay let me just finish this one small thing first…

giphy-5

6:10 a.m.

Oh. Is that sunlight? I forgot that was a thing. I was beginning to think I was trapped in my own eternal nightmare.

giphy-39

6:40 a.m.

….Aaaaand I’m finished with my homework! Just in time to lay down and get a full twenty minutes of sleep before my alarm goes off.

tumblr_inline_mjpzrifR0n1qz4rgp

7:00 a.m.

*Alarm going off* Is this real? Is anything real? Did I honestly just fall asleep? Wait, did I really pull an all-nighter or was that just the most elaborate dream ever? Ugh, just five more minutes…

giphy-23

7:05 a.m.

giphy-20

Whether planned or unintentional, all-nighters are cornerstone learning experiences in anyone’s college education. Here’s to hoping I never have another one after I graduate!

What are some of the weird things you do during an all-nighter? Tell me on Twitter and I might retweet you!

Signature

Leave a Reply

