To Auld Lang Syne

Hello my little blogger babies! First and foremost, I would like to say thank you to all of my readers who have been faithful to my blog since I started it in October. Although I created it out of necessity for a social media class I was taking, I fell in love with blogging, so I have decided to keep Diaries of a Super Senior going through my graduation in May. Besides, I have, like, soooo much wisdom left to share with all of you. Really, this is my Christmas present to you. You’re welcome.

giphy-17 copy

So, as you might have guessed, this post is all about New Year’s. Ahhh, what to say about New Year’s…

Well, for one, it’s a holiday about reflecting on the past year and seeing how our lives have changed, both for the better and for the worse. Maybe you finally dumped that boyfriend who considered the McDonald’s drive-through a nice date, or maybe you worked really hard and got a 4.0. Ahem, like your girl over here. Thank you very much.

Maybe this year, you lost some people you love, or maybe you found out that someone close to you is sick. Maybe you learned a lot about yourself, how strong you can be when faced with adversity, and what’s really important to you in life.

Whatever happened for you this past year, I truly hope your 2014 was filled with love.

giphy-4

Let’s not forget that New Year’s is also a time to make resolutions for the future. Many people set out to lose weight in the new year, kick a nasty habit, or take up a new hobby to improve their lives.

I always try to be very specific and realistic with my New Year’s resolutions, so as to not fall short. In 2012, for example, I opted to floss every single day. Not only did I meet my goal by flossing every day in 2012, I have now continued the habit well into 2014 (and hopefully 2015 and so on), and now floss twice per day.

My resolution for 2015 is to improve my posture, which, granted, is not terrible. After standing for long periods of time, however, I often forget how I look. I hope to be more mindful of this in the new year. What are your New Year’s resolutions? Tweet them to me and I might retweet you!

giphy-4

But to me, the most important part of this holiday is undoubtedly the celebration leading up to (and following) midnight. New Year’s is supposed to be a holiday filled with friends, family, fancy attire, glitter, confetti, fireworks, noisemakers, silly hats and glasses, music, dancing, laughter, and lots and lots of champagne. And who doesn’t love a glass of champagne?

Unfortunately, I haven’t always gotten along with New Years. The first big New Years Eve I can remember is when I was seven years old and the world rang in the new millennium. After that, my New Year’s celebrations haven’t been that memorable. Even my freshman year of college, I stayed at home with my parents and fell asleep after the East Coast celebration. My sophomore and junior years, I partied with my friends in Lake Tahoe, but I wasn’t 21 yet, so I couldn’t get into any bars. Last year, I didn’t make any plans, then tried to wing it the night of NYE. A piece of advice: never try to wing a holiday like New Years Eve.

So this year, I’ve organized a party bus for thirty of my friends to drive around the Reno/Tahoe area while listening to some music and drinking the abundance of champagne we have stocked up. Hopefully this year will finally be a New Years Eve worth remembering. I hope yours is, too. Cheers!

Signature

Leave a Reply

