Thanks, Mom and Dad

You may have seen my Thanksgiving day post where I not only explained why Thanksgiving is one of the best holidays of the year, but also wrote about the people, places, and things that I am grateful for. Among those people that I am grateful for are my parents, who I had the pleasure of spending some much-needed quality time with this weekend. Between all the glasses of wine, movies, pumpkin pie, shopping, and laughter, I realized just how important my parents have been to my development. I may throw the word “literally” around a lot, but I literally would not be where I am today without them.

literally

So, as I attempt to recover from my never-ending turkey coma, I will say little prayers for all the things my amazing parents have done for me over the years.

Mom and Dad, thank you for carrying me, feeding me, and changing my diapers before I could do anything for myself.

Thank you for holding my hand.

Thank you for teaching me all of life’s great lessons — from potty training and tying my shoes, to sewing on buttons and parallel parking cars, to language and logic and love of learning.

Thank you for teaching me to be independent.

Thank you for the hours of helping me with homework over the years.

Thank you for answering all of my questions.

Thank you for providing me with a beautiful, safe, and comfortable home.

Thank you for providing me with food, love, and warmth.

Thank you for making my childhood magical.

Thank you for letting me believe in Santa Claus.

Thank you for being there for me through everything, and for letting me know that I can tell you anything.

Thank you for always reminding me how proud you are of me.

Thank you for always reminding me that you love me.

Thank you for loving each other, thereby showing me what love looks like.

Thank you for teaching me to love myself.

Thank you for teaching me to respect myself.

Thank you for teaching me that to gain respect, you must give it first.

Thank you for teaching me to polite.

Thank you for letting me see the good in the world.

Thank you for teaching me to be skeptical.

Thank you for teaching me to be trusting.

Thank you for protecting me.

Thank you for knowing what was best for me, even when I didn’t know what was best for myself.

Thank you for giving me my space when I needed it, and for being strict when I needed it.

Thank you for teaching me about actions and consequences.

Thank you for teaching me to have a strong work ethic.

Thank you for teaching me to take pride in who I am and what I’ve worked for.

Thank you giving me my first car, and for sitting in the passenger seat through hours upon hours of frightening behind-the-wheel training.

Thank you for helping me fix my mistakes.

Thank you for putting up with me through mood swings and nervous breakdowns and late-night phone calls.

Thank you for teaching me that it’s okay to cry.

Thank you for teaching me how to laugh at myself.

Thank you for teaching me the importance of learning from my mistakes.

Thank you for teaching me what it means to forgive.

Thank you for always trying to make me happy.

Thank you for letting me be myself.

Thank you for letting me explore.

Thank you for my surprise 13th birthday party, even if it was exactly four months after my actual birthday.

Thank you for creating special memories that I will cherish for the rest of my life.

Thank you for teaching me the value of good etiquette.

Thank you for teaching me the importance of loyalty, honesty, integrity, and faith.

Thank you for fostering my curiosity.

Thank you for pushing me to be the best version of myself.

Thank you for realizing my potential before I ever could.

Thank you for providing me with the emotional, financial, and mental means necessary to go to college.

Thank you for your unwavering support.

Thank you for believing in me.

Thank you for teaching me the importance of education.

Thank you for teaching me that success isn’t all about money.

Thank you for teaching me what it means to be happy.

Thank you for helping me fulfill my dreams.

unnamed

My parents with me on my 21st birthday last year. As if I weren’t already tall enough, I just had to wear six-inch heels.

What do you have to thank your parents for? Send me pictures of you thanking your parents and I might retweet you!

Signature

Leave a Reply

