Partner Post: You Don’t Have to Drink in College

This weekend, I abstained from drinking to test what a sober weekend in college is like. I was also lucky to be graced with the presence of my wonderful parents, Randy and Janet, this weekend. You would think their presence would make my sobriety vow easier, but then again, you don’t know my parents. #FamiliesThatDrinkTogetherStayTogether

Watch as I share what it was like staying sober for one weekend in college, the pleasant surprises, and what I learned:

It was certainly refreshing to discover that I do not need to rely on alcohol to have a good time with my friends and family. At the same, I believe there is a time and a place for everything, and when it comes to learning about the positives and negatives of alcohol, college is the perfect time and place. In college, you’re old enough to drink legally, yet your responsibilities outside of class are scare. You have a community of people who are going through the same things, so you can easily recover from your mistakes. Once you graduate, these factors change. Often times, those who don’t learn their limits in college will still have a wild phase, but likely at the inconvenient age of 30 or 50.

While I now highly recommend everyone discover the internal bliss that comes with abstaining from alcohol, I also encourage you to let loose every once in a while. Just check in from time to time and ask yourself, “Am I drinking out of desire, or out of habit?” Now go ahead and crack open that box of wine in your kitchen. It’s about to be a long week; you deserve it.

Special thanks to @KehoeFromReno for help with my blog tonight! Update: Brian’s blog, The Sober Semester, is now located on Tumblr.

What would you do during a sober weekend? Tweet Brian or me about it and we might retweet you!

Signature

Leave a Reply

