Pros vs. Cons: Being a Super Senior

Like most things in life, being a fifth year senior comes with its fair share of both advantages and disadvantages. On one hand, I’m, like, super mature and can provide soooo much insight to my fellow undergraduates. On the other hand, I still like to listen to *N Sync and eat ice cream for dinner. And why shouldn’t I?

Being in college means managing an ongoing internal battle between your inner-kid and inner-adult. Pssst… Here’s a little secret… It’s okay to be both. The tricky part is figuring out when its appropriate to show the different sides of your personality.

This advice comes from just a few (four, to be specific) years of experience as an undergraduate. This May, I will cross the stage, receive my diploma, turn my tassel, and pack my bags for the real world. In my last year of collegiate bliss, I’m enjoying not quite being a grown-up, while still harboring the knowledge I’ve gained throughout the years. Six weeks into my super senior year, I’ve found that these are the inevitable pros and cons that come with the experience:

Pro: Everyone around me only expects me to party.

Party

Con: My parents expect me to get something called a “job.”

Workaholics

Pro: I still get to live the college experience.

College

Con: Coming straight from an incredible summer internship, I’ve seen the real world and I truly miss it.

Rain

Pro: Feeling like a hot shot on campus.

Regina George

Con: Freshman feeling the same way.

Blair Waldorf

Pro: The slight sense of maturity that comes with being an older student on campus.

Beyonce

Con: Not *actually* being all that mature.

Michelle Tanner 2

Pro: I’ve met some amazing people over the past four years.

Harry Potter

Con: Why do so many have to live far away now???

Facetime

Pro: Not having to deal with taxes yet.

Make it Rain

Con: Still dealing with research papers, midterms, presentations, finals, and grades.

Library

Pro: Being over 21!!!

21

Con: Not being able to stand the bars I used to go to as a freshman. I guess I’ll be drinking Barefoot Moscato and watching Parks and Rec on Netflix tonight. #Blessed

Wine

Pro: I know what I’m doing on campus. (Or at least I look like I do)

Strut

Con: The freshman clearly don’t.

Plastics 2

Pro: Laughing at all the suckers who already graduated and are now struggling to find jobs.

Dumb and Dumber

Con: Being jealous of the ones who seem like they actually have their lives together…

Awkward Britney

Pro: Not having a full course load means more free time for yoga, pleasure reading, doing an internship, or, you know… wasting hours on Pinterest.

Elf

Con: Wait, I’m taking all upper-level classes. I guess I’ll be spending all my free time in the library.

Studying

Pro: I have four amazing years of experiences under my belt that I wouldn’t trade for the world.

Modern Family

Con: The slight sense of jealousy I feel when seeing freshman and thinking of the four amazing years they have ahead. (You don’t even know how good you have it)

Rhianna

Pro: Finally knowing what I want to do with my life.

Major

Con: Not being able to do it yet.

Waiting

So there you have it, ladies and gentlemen. Being a super senior is great, but it’s not all fun and games. I’ve made mistakes along the way, sure. But do I regret anything? No.

I’ve learned from those mistakes, and I’m a better person for it. I wouldn’t be the woman I am today if hadn’t made those mistakes.

I’m not saying that everyone should try and spread out their college experience over five years. If you can graduate in four years, or even three, you should certainly do it! I’m trying to showcase that each experience can have its silver lining, if you look for it.

The things I’ve learned, and the experiences that lay ahead for me, well, those are my silver lining.

Share your thoughts! What are some advantages and disadvantages you think are associated with being a fifth year undergraduate?

To stay connected with me during my fifth and final year, follow me on Twitter and Instagram, and like my Facebook page.

Signature

Leave a Reply

